Into the forest I run

SAM_4397

Into the forest I run

To run and explore, to feel and find.

My legs move fast, my feet pound the earth

People vanish, the air is crisp.

Away, away to paths unknown and untread

Distance cannot be measured, time becomes obsolete

I do not care, I only seek

To be gone, to renew.

The leaves of yesteryear flood the hollow and layer the inclines

The branches above me take erratic shapes, grow in twisted patterns

My breath is heavy now, hissing in and out.

Run, just run!

My heart echoes the cry, my body responds

It is not wasteful, or arbitrary

It is a breath of life.

This run tells me I am human, I am sound

Clears the memories, refreshes the soul.

The wild heart

Seeking to be let out.

 

Leave a Reply

