Desolation

From whence did the stinger come?

Who threw it? What is the evil?

Was it an enemy? A friend deceived?

Or was it God, who dwells unseen.

Surely, surely it wasn’t me.

In fact it was all, all but one of these.

God never harmed her, but the rest threw the dart one time or another.

Times it has happened, this tragedy.

Logged in the record of near and distant memories.

Sometimes I wonder. I think hard, considering all involved.

What can I say? What can I do?

I have no answer to give myself.

Only desires.

That picture.

Her falling.

All hearts. My own.

Somewhere in the midst of it all, there is hope?

Somewhere perhaps, not here.

I do my best, but nature beckons.

I fly far, I fall far.

She, further than me.

Leave a Reply

